Skip to main content

Text size:

Page Colour

about / who we are

Our Partners

Our Partners

International Paralympic Committee (IPC)

IPC Website

The IPC acts as the International Federation for 10 sports and have a clear objective to assist these sports towards independence.

IWAS works with the IPC on helping to grow all of its sports as part of its legacy as a founding member of the Paralympic Games.

The sports regularly appear at the IWAS World Games, including events that are not on the Paralympic programme.

  1. World Para Swimming
  2. World Para Athletics
  3. World Shooting Para Sport
  4. World Para Powerlifting
  5. World Para Dance Sports

The IPC also manages World Para Alpine Skiing, World Para Nordic Skiing and World Para Ice Hockey.

International Organisation of Sports for the Disabled (IOSDs)

The IOSDs are the founding members of the International Paralympic Committee.

There are four IOSDs currently recognised by the IPC, including IWAS.

Individually each organisation advocates for, and contributes towards the development of, at least one of the impairment groups represented at the Paralympics.

  1. Cerebral Palsy International Sports and Recreation Association  (CPISRA)
  2. International Blind Sports Federation  (IBSA)
  3. Virtus: World Intellectual Impairment Sport  (Virtus)
  4. International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation (IWAS)

Collectively, the IOSDs work together to promote their important work towards the success of the Paralympic movement and the athletes they support.

World Disability Union

WDU website

Established in 2011, the World Disability Union supports the delivery of the United Nations’ Convention of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities through its 150 members from almost 70 countries.

IWAS and the WDU will use the IWAS World Games – one of the biggest gatherings of athletes with physical impairments – as a platform for promoting accessibility in host countries as well as the basic rights of people with disabilities.

As well as promoting equality of opportunity, other key parts of the agreement include offering host cities the chance to be assessed for accessibility according to WDU standards and given a certificate of compliance.

The WDU has four main areas of work. These are prevention of disability, equal opportunities, improvements in rehabilitation and the uniform introduction of universal standards in accessibility. The organisation evaluates building projects, offers seminars and courses and promotes inclusion.