Skip to main content

Text size:

Page Colour

IWAS World Games



The IWAS World Games is a biennial event featuring multiple sports, aiming to give aspiring athletes with physical impairments their first taste of international competition and older athletes the chance to continue competing.

The IWAS World Games encapsulates the IWAS motto of Unity, Friendship and Sportsmanship and demonstrates the values long held by IWAS to educate, train and provide competitive opportunities to sportsmen and women worldwide.

Athletes can compete in under 23, open and Masters (over 40 years) categories.

All IWAS World Games are individually tailored to each Local Organising Committee objectives and resources and can include all or a selection of the traditional Games sports: archery
athletics, powerlifting, shooting, swimming, table tennis, wheelchair fencing, wheelchair rugby, table tennis and volleyball.

All of the sports are well established on the Paralympic Games programme, offering athletes the chance to experience international competition before they face their peers on the biggest stage of them all.

Please click the button below for more information on registering your interest in hosting an IWAS World Games.


The Value of the IWAS World Games to the Paralympic Movement

IWAS and its predecessor – the International Stoke Mandeville Games Federation (ISMGF) – were the founders of the Paralympic Games.

Our history governing major international sporting events and working with Local Organising Committees is now over 60 years old.

The early Games have gone on to create the blueprint for which the Paralympic Games and Paralympic movement has become today.

Recognised and encouraged by the International Paralympic Committee as a key effort towards the Paralympic movement’s objectives, the World Games still make a valuable contribution to the development of Para sport today.